Strange Symmetry.

February 28, 2009

Being back in touch with my long-lost-daddy has meant that I’ve rehashed my life in a sort of Cliffs-Notes form, which inevitably includes mentioning how I lived in Iceland for a while. 

It was very interesting, and strange, to find out that my grandfather spent half of WWII in Iceland. I knew he had been stationed in New Guinea for a period of time, as I have a ring that he made while he was there, but I hadn’t realized it was the US military (army, I think, don’t know for sure) making up for his time in the Frozen Northlands. 

It’s a very strange symmetry to find this out both after my grandfather has passed away and after my connections to Iceland are themselves gone. I don’t really have anyone to talk to about it, or anything meaningful to say other than “Wow. That’s weird.”

Leave a Reply

