His Holiness, the 14th Dalai Lama.

May 4, 2009

141937704_246761b3bdPhoto by Flickr user  Elton Melo

On Saturday, I had the once-in-a-lifetime experience of going to see His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama give a talk at Gillette Stadium.  I was lucky enough to make the trek with some lovely friends of mine and it was just… astoundingly amazing. I have always been fascinated by His Holiness as he just has this peaceful Gandhi-esque quality, which is just absolutely awe-inspiring. I never imagined that I’d ever have the opportunity to experience that in person. 

He really, truly, exudes happiness. He walked into the stadium and it just felt a thousand times more joyful. He has not just an inner peace, but a fantastic sense of humor as well. He cracked jokes during his speech, and he donned a PATRIOTS HAT to keep the sun out of his eyes. Last week, I attended my very first major league baseball game at Fenway Park, which was a religious conversion experience in that I will now and forever be a citizen of Red Sox Nation. Seeing the Dalai Lama in a Patriots hat – well, I’ll be screaming “GO PATS!” whenever they take the field. Odd that it took a Tibetan monk to finally make a real New Englander out of me. 

photo by Flickr user MickMuise. My own photos were… well… you can see… just to document that I was there.

Flickr users maple_leaf  & pag2525 have more photos from the event as well.

His talk was just perfect. It was simple, without being condescending. He spoke about how we’re all just people, every single one of us; how he enjoyed spending time in soup kitchens every bit as much as meeting heads of state. I wish that I had been able to attend his morning teaching on Buddhism as well, but the man is not a cheap date, and the full-day ticket was out of my budget. Still, I am not complaining. The opportunity to see him speak at all, on anything, was worth every penny. 

I will cherish this afternoon for the rest of my life. Just thinking about being in the presence of this amazing man makes my heart swell. That I was there, and shared with 10,000 other people a piece of his experiences. It’s just… incredible.

2513557220_97e2e7e27e

Photo by Flickr user SpreePiX-Berlin

PS: Very tongue-in-cheek post about the Dalai Lama talking to Patriots Fans over at Kissing Suzy Kolber. (Thanks, Matt!)

Leave a Reply

