New job!

July 26, 2009

3757496507_b743e3da85

Photo by Flickr user SarahR89

It certainly felt like it took forever while I was doing interviews, but really, it didn’t take long at all for me to find a new family to work for. Yay! As soon as I acquire a vehicle, I will be Mary Poppins for two boys ages 4 & 1.5. “My girls” at the last job were the Schmoops and while I kind of feel weird using the implication of children as objects, I do think that “Thing 1” and “Thing 2” are the best code-names for these boys. They’re very sweet, smart boys with a ton of energy. Very, very Cat In the Hat.

So, yes. Thing 1 and Thing 2. I’m excited. The interview process is always nerve-wracking, especially for nanny jobs. It’s hard, because it’s not at all about the resume or my various certifications and qualifications, it’s really about personality – finding a nanny with the right vibe that matches the family. I’m really happy about this position, I think it’s a great fit for everybody. The kids have their own art supplies! And I mean, REAL art supplies! Thing 1 and I painted together! (I still have paint on my hands, actually. And I’m quite glad I chose not to wear my good pants.) The parents are very mellow, as am I.  This can actually be a drawback for me with parents who really want someone who is going to be on top of the kids 24/7. I am very “in control,” but I am in no way “controlling.” So, yeah, it takes the right match for everybody. And I think that Thing 1 & Thing 2 and I will have great times while mom is away.

One Response to “New job!”

  1. Lis Says:

    *applause*!


Leave a Reply

