Way Down in the Hole.

September 28, 2009

wire

Nuno and I just finished watching The Wire. Man, what a show. I think it has ruined me for all media. Admittedly, it took until 75% of the way through Season 1 for me to get into it, but what a ride. Season 5 was pretty clunky, but the end pulled together well.

The whole thing was worth it to see the echoing scenes in Seasons 1 & 5 with various homicide detectives struggling to put together Ikea furniture. Priceless.

What to watch next? I have no idea. I’m a big fan of Six Feet Under and The West Wing. I hear good things about Mad Men, so I’ve put that up in the queue. But man, I don’t know if I can ever watch sub-genius television ever again and I used to love me some good brain fluff. I blame you, Jimmy McNulty. I loved this show so much, I named my laptop Stringer Bell.

Keep it in the game, kids.

Bonus: A better review than I could write on why The Wire is the G.O.A.T. I doubted it, but even I have come around. Truly, it’s right up there with Infinite Jest in terms of underappreciated cultural achievements.

the-wire3
the-wire1

large_wire08_06

kima_the-wire

wire-stringer-bell-380x282

Leave a Reply

