Nanny Tested: Strollers.

November 9, 2009

I’m a fan of strollers. Nannying in a city for a year and having to haul children and all of their accessories just would not have been possible without a stroller. I still enjoy using one occasionally with Thing 2 just because on his own, he’s all over the place and I feel much safer knowing that he’s not hurting himself if we’re off running a few errands. So, I have a few opinions on the subject and thought I’d share.

41W5k-NEHTL._AA280_Chicco lightweight stroller

The Chicco stroller I’ve used (with two families, no less!) is slightly different, and slightly inferior as it has no basket, but this is the basic concept. Very lightweight. No frills. Still, very sturdy and gets the job done. Without a basket, the stroller gets kind of unwieldy (or I do!) with bags hanging off, but with a basket, this would be pretty much perfect. Fits in the trunk of my car just fine. Also very easy to navigate in small spaces – on/off public transportation, etc.

41x4VSOH66L._AA280_

Maclaren Volo

This stroller is very similar to, but not as good as, the Chicco. The Volo I used was easier to fold up, but did not have brakes. No brakes! This is double plus ungood for riding on the subway where the brake is all that’s between you and the stroller flying on down the train – so I had to be extra sure to place my feet strategically around the wheels, which can get super tricky when the train is crowded. Do not want. The basket though is a big plus. Really love the basket. But really, a stroller needs some brakes.

Oddly enough, the day I post this, Maclaren has issued a recall of every stroller they’ve made since 1999 due to fingertip amputation hazard (!). Clearly, I was not pro this stroller in the first place, so there’s another reason to go for the Chicco.

C103172BLACK0000-6

Phil & Ted’s Dash

This is the way to do a double stroller, if such things must be done. I can’t even imagine the pain and heartache of a side-by-side double and public transportation (or even sidewalks!). This one is itself plenty wide. I used it as a single stroller only in the winters when the big wheels were a total necessity for walking down snow-filled sidewalks, and definitely recommend it on that count as well. It’ll get through anything. It is rather bulky for the subway for just one child, but with two kids, it takes up far less space than any other double stroller I’ve seen. Only drawback: When using as a double stroller, there is no convenient place to hang a diaper bag thus turning nanny into a sherpa.

23724241-300x300-0-0_Mountain+Buggy+Urban+Single+Red

Mountain Buggy Urban single

I imagine that these wheels would be awesome in the snow, but I have not used this stroller in a winter setting. This stroller is a beast. It doesn’t fit in the trunk of my car without a lot of manhandling, and even that means that everything else has to be taken *out* of the trunk (and that’s not a lot of stuff, but still). It’s very, very bulky. I’m pretty much a fan of the basket and that’s about it. It’s a lot of stroller for just one kid. While it says “urban,” I imagine that the best use of a stroller like this would be off-roading. Or, of course, jogging. If you roll that way, so to speak. This stroller does have a great feature that I haven’t seen in many toddler single strollers: the ability to recline the seat back. That’s awesome for a stroll that turns into a nap. Way awesome.

Leave a Reply

